Race for SP Sports Awards heating up

first_imgThe race is on as sporting teams, athletes and coaches vie to take out awards on the 24th of this month at the South Pacific Brewery Sports Awards.From the racing arena comes nominees Toea Wisil, Betty Burua and Nelson Stone, to the sporting teams like the eccentric Barramundis and the high flying Pepes.The sport of weightlifting has done extremely well, being given the nod in several different categories with the sports club of the year, male athlete of the year plus the junior male athlete of the year.The nominees and categories:Coach of the year: Rarua Dikana (cricket), Tommy Lui Kila (volleyball) and Laka Nou (rugby union).Sports Administrator of the year: Don Fox (rugby league), Ludwig Peka (soccer/Team Morobe), Konio Vai (squash).Best Sportsperson with disability: Pope Gazave (parasports), Rose Nega (special Olympics), Thomson Ninkama (special Olympics).Distinguished service to sports: Abel Manumanu (athletics/Milne Bay), Graham Osborne (rugby union), Timai Tally (bodybuilding).Sports club of the Year: Hanuabada weightlifting club, Kempa outrigger canoeing club, Telstars netball club.Junior female athlete of the Year: Jenny Albert (athletics), Lorraine Harry (weightlifting), Lynette Vai (squash).Junior Male athlete of the Year: Riley Hekure (cricket), Geoffery Loi (table tennis), Fred Oala (weightlifting)Community Sports Initiative Award: Kempa Outrigger Canoeing Club, NSI judo club, Tubusereia junior basketball club.Team of the year: Amoa men’s volleyball team, Barramundis, Pepes.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *