Who got the nod And who lost out Here are Varadkars new

first_img 50,192 Views Share51 Tweet Email4 Jun 20th 2017, 2:45 PM https://jrnl.ie/3453824 Tuesday 20 Jun 2017, 2:45 PM 62 Comments TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has today appointed his Ministers of State, with others losing junior ministries they had previously held.Varadkar had warned that there would be disappointments and there certainly were – with some losing jobs and expectant others not getting them.Varadkar promoted a number of TDs to junior ministries for the first time. Here is your full list of Ministers of State, including four Super Juniors who will be allowed to sit at Cabinet (but not have a formal say in its business):Super Junior MinistersChief Whip and Minister of State for Gaeilge, Gaeltacht and the IslandsJoe McHugh (Donegal) McHugh, second from right Source: Sam Boal/RollingNews.ieMinister of State for Higher EducationMary Mitchell O’Connor (Dun Laoghaire/Rathdown) Source: Sam Boal/RollingNews.ieMinister of State for DisabilityFinian McGrath (Dublin Bay North) Source: Sam Boal/RollingNews.ieMinister of State for DefencePaul Kehoe (Wexford) Source: Leah Farrell/RollingNews.ieJunior MinistersMinister of State for Local Government and Electoral ReformJohn Paul Phelan (Carlow/Kilkenny) Source: @JPPhelanMinister of State for Housing and Urban DevelopmentDamien English (Meath West) Source: Sam Boal/RollingNews.ieMinister of State for Financial Services and InsuranceMichael D’Arcy  (Wexford) Source: @michaeldarcyMinister of State for European AffairsHelen McEntee (Meath East) Source: Niall CarsonMinister of State for Food, Forestry and HorticultureAndrew Doyle (Wicklow) Source: Rollingnews.ieMinister of State for Public Procurement, Open Government and e-GovernmentPatrick O’Donovan (Limerick)Minister of State for Community, Natural Resources and Digital DevelopmentSeán Kyne (Galway West)Minister of State for Mental Health and Older PeopleJim Daly (West Cork) Source: TwitterMinister for Trade, Employment, Business, EU Single Market and Data ProtectionPat Breen (Clare)Minister of State for the National Drug Strategy and Health PromotionCatherine Byrne (Dublin South Central)Minister of State for the Diaspora and International DevelopmentCiarán Cannon (Galway East) Source: Sam Boal/RollingNews.ieMinister of State for Equality, Immigration and IntegrationDavid Stanton (Cork East)Minister of State for Training and SkillsJohn Halligan (Independent Alliance – Waterford) Source: RollingNews.ieMinister of State for the OPW and Flood ReliefKevin ‘Boxer’ Moran (Independent Alliance – Longford/Westmeath) Kevin ‘Boxer’ Moran with Health Minister Simon Harris. Source: Sam BoalMinister of State for Tourism & SportBrendan Griffin (Kerry) Source: Eamonn Farrell/RollingNews.ieThe Demoted ListDara Murphy, a Coveney supporter from Cork, lost his position at the Department of Foreign Affairs where he served as the junior minister with responsibility for European Affairs.Marcella Corcoran Kennedy has also lost her junior ministry in Health.With reporting by Sinéad O’CarrollNew ministers in Finance, Justice, Housing: This is Leo Varadkar’s Cabinet Tweet thisShare on FacebookEmail this article By Christina Finn Who got the nod? And who lost out? Here are Varadkar’s new junior ministers These are the backbenchers who just got a promotion today. Short URLlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *